Willow Writer Jenna Shares How She And Chris Picked Their Wedding Song!

November 25, 2014 at 1:55 pm (Willow Writers) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

One of the most important items that need to be taken care of after you find a wedding venue is finding a DJ and picking the music that will be played at the wedding. As soon as Chris and I booked The Willow Room, we began looking for a DJ. I already had a good idea of who I wanted to be my DJ. When I was looking for my wedding dress at Alfred Angelo’s, several people who worked there and several of the other customers referred me to a DJ called 2nd II None. Everyone spoke so highly of them that I decided to meet with them. As soon as I met a few of the DJs that worked at 2nd II None, I could tell that they would make my wedding fun. Chris and I decided not to continue to look around and we booked 2nd II None as the DJ for our wedding.

Once we booked 2nd II None they gave us a questionnaire to fill out and one of the questions asked what our wedding song was. My stomach dropped when I realized that we didn’t have one yet. I knew what song I wanted to dance to with my dad, but not Chris. When we had first started dating, Chris had told me that he always thought of me when he heard the Train song “Soul Sister”, but that didn’t seem like an appropriate wedding song for our first dance. Chris and I began looking for a nice romantic song that would be meaningful to us and would be nice for our first wedding dance

After weeks of looking, we had narrowed our choice down to two songs. Chris liked the song “When You Say Nothing At All,” but I was leaning toward “1000 Years” by Christina Perri. Every time I heard “1000 Years” I got emotional and thought of Chris. I didn’t feel the same way about the other song. Something about the lyrics to “1000 Years” touched my heart.

Christina Perri. (2014). Retrieved November 23, 2014, from Billboard: http://www.billboard.com/artist/299255/christina-perri

Christina Perri. (2014). Retrieved November 23, 2014, from Billboard: http://www.billboard.com/artist/299255/christina-perri

“A Thousand Years”
Heart beats fast
Colors and promises
How to be brave?
How can I love when I’m afraid to fall?
But watching you stand alone,
All of my doubt suddenly goes away somehow.

One step closer

[Chorus:]
I have died every day waiting for you
Darling, don’t be afraid I have loved you
For a thousand years
I’ll love you for a thousand more

Time stands still
Beauty in all she is
I will be brave
I will not let anything take away
What’s standing in front of me
Every breath
Every hour has come to this

One step closer

[Chorus:]
I have died every day waiting for you
Darling, don’t be afraid I have loved you
For a thousand years
I’ll love you for a thousand more

And all along I believed I would find you
Time has brought your heart to me
I have loved you for a thousand years
I’ll love you for a thousand more

One step closer
One step closer

[Chorus:]
I have died every day waiting for you
Darling don’t be afraid I have loved you
For a thousand years
I’ll love you for a thousand more

And all along I believed I would find you
Time has brought your heart to me
I have loved you for a thousand years
I’ll love you for a thousand more
(Hodges, 2000-2014)

Hodges, D. (2000-2014). Christina Perri Lyrics. Retrieved November 23, 2014, from AZ Lyrics: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/christinaperri/athousandyears.html

The song is about being afraid of getting hurt, but realizing that you love the person so much that there is nothing to be worried about. You love the person so much that you won’t be afraid and you won’t let anyone or anything else destroy the love you have for that person.

This is how I feel about Chris. I love him so much that I would never let anything take away from our love and I trust him with my whole heart, so there is nothing to be afraid of. I know that I will love Chris for 1000 years and then for 1000 years after that to eternity. When Chris saw how emotional I got over the song he realized how important it was to me and we decided to make it our song.

The melody of the song is very beautiful and whimsical sounding. I wanted to learn how to ballroom dance so that Chris and I would have a beautiful first dance. I found a basic class that was being offered through an elementary school and we signed up for it. The instructor was very nice and she taught us the basic dance moves for several ballroom dances. When she found out we were getting married she listened to our song and told us that “1000 Years” would go best with a Viennese Waltz. She explained that it was harder dance to learn, but she was confident that we could learn it. When the eight week class was over our instructor told us that if we wanted to continue learning ballroom dance, we could come to her studio for class once a week and that when it got closer to the wedding she would teach us the dance for our song.

Viennese Waltz. (2013). Retrieved November 23, 2014, from DokoLive-Ballroom and Latin Dance Events: http://dokolive.com/dancestyle/vwaltz.html

Viennese Waltz. (2013). Retrieved November 23, 2014, from DokoLive-Ballroom and Latin Dance Events: http://dokolive.com/dancestyle/vwaltz.html

I really enjoy going to dance class every Wednesday. It’s a nice date night out and it is really fun leaning different ballroom dances. I hope that our first dance will be wonderful and I am looking forward to practicing it. I am nervous about messing up, but I know that the most important thing is having fun with my best friend and new husband. I’m anticipating having a great time at my wedding, dancing the night away with the man I want to spend the next one thousand years dancing with.

Leave a Reply

