Meet Willow Writer Jenna and fiancé Chris! How they met, the proposal, and lots of pictures!

July 11, 2014 at 12:59 pm (Willow Writers) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Jenna E. Faas & Christopher M. Schmidt

How We Met

The year was 2008, and it was the summer before my senior year of High School. I had been looking for a summer job so I could start saving money for the next biggest step in my life: college. My mom informed me that her boss Mark, (Christopher’s dad) was looking for a summer intern who would be responsible for organizing all the files in the office and updating and entering data in the database. I accepted the position, excited for the opportunity to work with my mom.  On my first day of work I wore my glasses instead of my contacts assuming that all the people who worked at Jenna1Hampton Technical Associates were my mom’s age….wrong!  This is where I first laid eyes on Christopher Schmidt.  His light blue eyes were the first thing I noticed about him when we were briefly introduced the morning of my first day. I can’t say for sure that it was love at first sight, but I know I felt the nervous butterflies in my stomach. From then on, I dressed up to go to work and during our lunch hour I would always try talking to him. Chris went to Penn State for civil engineering and he was working on getting his professional engineering license. Chris is a very shy person,so I know I did most of the talking. I wasn’t brave enough to ask him if he wanted to go on a date because I was eight and a half years younger than him and I wasn’t confident that he would want to. As the summer drew to a close, I was very disappointed that he did not ask for my number. I felt like all hope was lost.Jenna2

In a twist of fate, I had tickets to the Pirates’ last game of the season.  Every year at the last home game, different prizes are given away to fans if their rows are selected. My row happened to be selected for one of the prizes and each person in the row won a set of four tickets to Seven Springs to use for either skiing, snowboarding, or snow tubing. Since my aunt, uncle, and brother were with me, between us we had acquired sixteen tickets. Since I am not a very coordinated person, we decided to use the tickets for snow tubing, but since we had such a large number of tickets we didn’t know who to ask to go with us. My mom joked around and said that she was going to ask Chris and I joked back that it wasn’t a bad idea. My mom did end up asking Chris to come along and told him that he could bring his twin brother, too. We planned the outing in March because a friend of mine called Seven Springs to make sure they were still opened.

When we arrived at Seven Springs I was surprised to see that Chris was sitting in the parking lot. He had come by himself which I was also surprised by since the outing mainly consisted of my family and a few friends. We entered the ski lodge all very excited about the prospect of snow tubing.

JennaSevenSprings

We were disappointed to find that all winter activities had ended the weekend before, so my friend had misunderstood the voice recorded message when she called Seven Springs. We had made the trip to Seven Springs for nothing. Instead of wasting the day, we all decided to find somewhere for lunch and my mom suggested that I ride with Chris so that he wouldn’t have to drive by himself. We had such a great conversation on the way to the restaurant and I was able to find out his cell phone number.

I had talked to my boss, Mark, before leaving Hampton Technical and he said I could return when I had breaks from school and after my senior year so I could work the summer before college. I was going to work over Easter break, but I didn’t want to wait that long to see Chris again. I typed out a text message to him asking him if he wanted to go see a movie, but I hesitated to send it. What if he didn’t want to go with me to see it?  I showed my friend the message and asked her what she thought I should do.

“Don’t worry about it,” she said. “I sent the message for you.”

“What! Why would you do that?” I cried.

“Because I knew you would never send the message,” she replied.

I fretted the whole day wondering what his response would be to my message. I was shocked and surprised when he had said yes. We met at the Pittsburgh Mills Mall to see the movie called The Knowing and I told myself that if he paid for my ticket it was an official date. Chris had the tickets bought before I had even arrived at the theater!  We both thought the movie was really strange, but I was happy that he wanted to go to Eat ’n Park afterwards for dessert. We talked for a really long time and when he said:

“When can I see you again?”

I said:  “How about tomorrow,” and we have been inseparable ever since.

How He Proposed

I spent the next four years of my life continuing my education at California University of Pennsylvania working on a bachelor’s degree in Geology. I returned home every weekend to visit Christopher and he came down to Cal U one day a week when I wasn’t working my two part time jobs. I figured that Chris wouldn’t propose while I was in school since I was focused on getting my degree. I thought for sure he would ask me at my graduation, because we had been together for four years. Apparently Chris wanted to plan it out and make it special.JennaGrad1JennaGrad

In September, shortly after I started my new job at Moody and Associates, an environmental company in Houston PA, Chris took me to dinner at a very nice restaurant.

 

I honestly was not expecting anything since I had almost given up on the idea of a proposal. After dinner he suggested that we go up to Mt. Washington just to walk out on the balconies and look at the city all lit up at night. I was starting to be suspicious when I noticed that Chris was acting nervous. Any time other people would walk out on the overlook, I could tell he was anxious. As I mentioned before, Chris is very shy and does not like being the center of attention especially around strangers. Finally, we were the only ones on the overlook.

Before I knew it, Chris was down on one knee, pulling out a ring and asking me if I would marry him.

“Is this really happening?” I asked excitedly.  I was so shocked and excited that I didn’t answer right away.

“Well?” Chris asked still kneeling on the ground.

“Yes!  Of course I want to marry you!” I replied.

JennaEngage

JennaRing

Honestly, just as I said yes, fireworks went off from Heinz Field. They were really for the Steeler game, but according to me I believe they were just for us.  e are now in the process of planning our wedding which will take place August 22, 2015.

JennaFireworks

Leave a Reply

