Willow Writer Melissa needs some advice on all things ACCESSORIES!

May 21, 2014 at 12:48 pm (Willow Writers) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

Hello everyone! Well here we are in mid-May, and we are down to the final six months to go! Because Chad and I have been engaged for a year already, the planning process has been at a slow but steady pace…. until now. Now I’ve gotten to the point where I’m beginning to have nightmares about various wedding day disasters but most of all, not being prepared. For example, one night I dreamt that it was the morning of the wedding and I realized I had forgotten to book a hair and makeup team. Not a complete disaster but still pretty stressful. Needless to say, the next morning that was something immediately, checked off my list. So far in the month of May, I’ve stepped up my game, making sure I accomplish at least one major “to-do” a week.

So today I’m going to share with you one of the most time-consuming and perplexing to-do’s I’ve encountered in the last year. The search for the perfect accessories!  Since my last post, the majority of our planning time has been devoted to shopping for Mom’s, bridesmaid’s and flower girl dresses. I have a pretty large bridal party, 7 bridesmaids, 1 junior bridesmaid and 1 flower girl, so finding and ordering dresses for everyone has been a bit of a daunting task, especially when 2 of my girls, my sisters, live out-of-state, as well as my mom and step-mom, and Chad’s mom lives about an hour and a half drive away from us, as well.

So…. now comes the task of choosing accessories. Like most girls, I love shoes and I have a closet full of them. But choosing the most perfect shoe to wear on my wedding day has been one of the most difficult items for me to check off. Do I wear white to match my dress or navy blue? Pointed toe or peep toe?  Jeweled, feathered or plain?  And it’s not just the shoes; it’s all of the accessories…. the veil, hair piece or no hair piece, the jewelry, studs or chandelier earrings, heirloom pieces or something new? What sort of jewelry should my bridesmaids wear? Also, with our wedding being in November, should my girls and I have faux fur capes or wraps for outdoor pictures? There are so many choices, and perhaps that’s the real problem I’m facing, that there are too many possibilities to pick from! It’s becoming harder to choose the accessories then it was to pick the dress!! Has anyone else had the same problem?

So, in addition to my continuous shoe search, I have lots on the calendar for the next month! My mom and I are planning to meet with our florist this weekend, and we also plan to decide on invitations soon, which I’m so excited to do! I’ll keep you all posted! Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

