August Staff Spotlight with Executive Sous Chef, Dave Emerick!

August 16, 2013 at 2:04 pm (Willow Writers) (, , , )

What is your title and what are your main duties at The Willow Room?  How long have you been working here?
I’m the Executive Sous Chef at The Willow Room and have been here since 2006. In my role, I  do all the sauces and soups for the banquets, as well as prepare prep food, and handle all the specialty meals, such as gluten-free, vegan, or  vegetarian dishes. 

Willow Room Note: Dave is always hard at work in the kitchen and he’s always in a good mood!

How long have you been cooking, and did you always know you wanted to be a Chef?
Yes, I’ve been cooking since I was 19, so for over 30 years. I started at The  Holiday House in Monroeville.

Do you have a favorite dish or a dish you created that you like to make?
I don’t have one favorite dish, but I love cooking outside on the grill and I love doing saute. I used to have a few veal dishes I liked to make back in the day.

What’s one or two “Chef tips” you can give those of us that want to be better cooks?
Always plan ahead and be prepared for the unexpected. Also, have all of your ingredients ready before you starting cooking. It will make the process go a lot smoother and faster.

What do you like to do when you’re not working?
I like working out in the yard, cleaning (believe it or not, it relaxes me), and gardening.

Thanks for sharing some things about yourself, Dave, and for all your dedicated years to The Willow Room!

Leave a Reply

