July Staff Spotlight with Office Coordinator, Melody Hyzy!

July 16, 2013 at 5:22 pm (Willow Writers) (, , , , )

You were one of the first employees at the Willow Room. Tell us how the event scene has changed over time, and what you do in your current roleI’ve been here 9 years and have enjoyed every minute of it. The staff is wonderful to work with. My current role is the Office Coordinator.  I enjoy greeting guests as they come in the office door.  I also handle the final invoicing to the clients, and I assure that each department has the correct paperwork prior to each event. I am also involved in assisting the General Manager with the accounting and am always willing to help where needed.

Willow Room Note: Anyone that has worked in our office lately, was I’m sure, greeted with a smile from Mel. Or smelled one of her beautiful candles burning. Thanks for doing the little extra things!

I know you work events (bartending, holidays), as well as handle the office. Tell us how you got involved on that side of things, as well. When I began here I was hired as a part-time server. I was offered an office position in 2007, and was also promoted to Banquet Captain and then handled the duties of Banquet Manager for (7) months.  I was then offered a full-time position in the office, and with my prior background in this department, this is where I felt I should be. I’ve also been willing to help and assist where needed. For holidays, I maintain the collection of payments for the guests checks and also help when needed bartending for events. I enjoy it very much and enjoy the people I work with.

Do you have a most memorable moment that happened at a wedding or event you were working?  The moments that I enjoy most are when I’m working a wedding and I watch the Father/Daughter dance. To me, this is a very special time for them and it’s a memory that lasts a lifetime!

You get a chance to work with your daughter, Holly, sometimes for events. What is it like working with her, and do you think your younger daughter, Heather, will also join the team someday?  Working with my daughter Holly is a great experience for both of us. It doesn’t happen that often but when it does, we try to be “co-workers” and “not “mother/daughter.”  My daughter Heather will most likely join the team. She is looking forward to being able to get her “own” money.

Willow Room Note: We’re excited to have all the Hyzy girls working here someday!

What do you like to do when you’re not working?  During my spare time I help with the Yough Marching Band, attend my daughter’s softball games, and also enjoy watching my son play his T-Ball games. I also enjoy going to Pirate, Steeler, and Penguin games with my husband and kids.

Willow Room Note: A shout out to Mel’s son Hayden!

Thanks for sharing a little more about yourself, Mel! Stay tuned for another staff spotlight next month!

Leave a Reply

