Meet A New Willow Writer, Renee:) and Read How Her Dog Helped Her Find Love!

May 28, 2013 at 7:13 pm (Uncategorized)

Hi everyone! My name is Renee and my fiancé’s name is Lorenzo. I’m really looking forward to providing you with the details about our journey to the altar. Lorenzo and I have been dating for over 2.5 years but let me back you up to how we first met.

I used to see this guy walking his bulldog, Nino, around the apartment complex I lived at. I would also be out walking my dog, a black lab named Bear. Our romance reminds me of the movie “Must Love Dogs.” In my head, I used to think to myself he’s really good looking, but nerves and shyness always got the best of me.

Julie and Bear

Renee and Bear

One night, one of my guy friends and I went to our local pub. When we walked in, I noticed “the bulldog guy.”  I figured he wasn’t going to talk to me, being I was there with some other guy who Lorenzo probably thought was my boyfriend. So, I got some guts

Lorenzo and Nino

Lorenzo and Nino

and went over and asked him if he had a bulldog. He said yes and I told him I am his neighbor that walks the black lab. At this point, Lorenzo must have been nervous because he didn’t say much and he kept playing with his phone. I thought he had no interest in me and that the situation was kind of awkward. We chatted for a few more minutes and I left. A couple days later, I received a friend request on Facebook from Lorenzo. He started messaging me on Facebook and then after a couple weeks FINALLY asked me on our first date! YAY!!  I was so excited!!

After a few dates, I knew something was special about Lorenzo and the connection we shared.  I had a feeling we were soul mates. As time went on, we started talking about spending the rest of our lives together. My birthday was in October and I got all dressed up for our dinner at Ditka’s in hopes he would propose. He didn’t. Then in November, we celebrated our 2nd anniversary with a romantic dinner in Pittsburgh. Again, I dressed to the nines but no proposal. In between Christmas and New Years, I went home to spend time with my family that weekend. I left their house on Sunday and as I was nearing my driveway, Lorenzo’s car was there. He told me he was going to have Sunday dinner with his folks which he normally does, so why was he at my place?

I hit the button to open my garage and there were tealight candles in the shape of a heart.  My heart started thumping and I thought, “Oh my gosh, I’m getting engaged!”  Meanwhile, I was dressed in sweats and had no makeup on, but this was the best surprise ever. As I stepped out of the car, there was a drawing near the candles that Lorenzo drew for me. It was a picture of me asking him if he had a bulldog. I walked inside and there were more drawings going up my stairs leading me to him in the living room. They all were things that happened in our relationship and on the top he would ask a question and at the bottom it would always say “The answer is YES!” When I started walking up the steps, he played Rihanna’s song “Diamonds.” Lorenzo said he could hear me giggling and crying the whole way up the steps.

The ring!

The ring!

When I got to the top of the steps the last drawing was a picture of a diamond and it read, “I have one more thing to ask you” and at the bottom it said, “I hope the answer is YES!”   When I walked in the living room he got down on one knee and asked me to marry him.  He also had a bottle of champagne and red velvet cake (my favorite). I cried and said YES!!!!

Lorenzo and Julie

Lorenzo and Renee

Our wedding is scheduled for May 2014.  We will be getting married at St. Sebastian’s Church and our reception will be at The Willow Room, both in Belle Vernon.  I can’t wait to share this journey with you all!!!

3 Comments

  1. Beth Stefkovich Dunmore said,

    Love the Blog Renee! Can’t wait for the big day!! 🙂
    -Beth aka Beefs

  2. Renee said,

    I love that you put your aka on here!!! Lol

  3. Katie said,

    Furry friends help find true love! Can’t wait for the big day and also for all of the festivities in the coming months! Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

