Willow Writer Kristen shares photos of her invites, shoes, flowers and more!

May 15, 2013 at 1:15 pm (Willow Writers) (, , , , , , , , , )

Less than 5 months to go!  Joe and I have tackled wedding bands, our dinner choices, honeymoon location, and favors.  The current items on my plate were/are bridesmaid dresses and heels, invitations, and flowers!  There has been a lot of indecisiveness and double-guessing on the following items, but once all of the pictures are placed side by side, I am really excited about how everything is finally coming together!

Bridesmaids: Besides looking fabulous on your big day, it is important that your best girls look just as good!  After many hours spent in Alfred Angelo and Bridal Beginning, one of my bridesmaids, Dana, and I found the perfect bridesmaid dress!  We decided on strapless dress from the Dessy Group sold at Bridal Beginning in a flat gray color called Chinchilla to let the yellow flowers pop!  My Matron of Honor, Jen, will wear a smoky rhinestone sash that will perfectly accentuate our choice of heels!  k_shoes

k_dress

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Groomsmen:  The gentlemen will wear a gray Calvin Klein tuxedo from Men’s Wearhouse with a gray vest and a yellow tie.  Joe, my handsome soon-to-be groom will also wear this tuxedo with an ivory colored vest and tie to match my dress.

Invitations:  After being referred to many wonderful websites/vendors, my fiance and I have finally decided on a vintage theme invitation and postcard RSVP from www.emDOTzee.com.  The prices are very reasonable, and I instantly fell in love with one of the designs!  Even better, Melody created invitations for my best friend’s wedding back in 2008, so I have personally seen her amazing work!

k_invites

Flowers:  My favorite type of flower is a peony, so I am working with a florist, Elizabeth, from Botanical Emporium, to find a similar flower that will be in season in October.  Elizabeth recommended a bouquet of English tea roses and garden roses which display the same fluffy, soft feel of peonies.  For the bridesmaids, Elizabeth will put together an assortment of soft, yellow colored flowers to match the groomsmens’ yellow ties.  I am in love with the idea of curly willow branches and soft yellow hydrangeas for centerpieces!  They are a bit pricy, so to help cut some of the cost, I will only use those centerpieces on half of the tables.  I am on the hunt for an idea for the rest of the tables!  Pinterest has proven to be wonderful!

k_flowers

Favors:  Joe has two nephews born with Cystic Fibrosis.  Because of the impact this has made on their lives, we have decided to make a donation to the CF Foundation on behalf of our guests.  We are working to create a beautiful sign to apprise our guests of the donation which we will set on the front table along with the guestbook and place cards.

In the next month, Joe and I will have finalized invitations, flowers, centerpieces, cake/cupcakes, cookies, tuxedos, and our honeymoon to Aruba!  I am feeling extremely accomplished, and definitely have a new respect for party planners!

Leave a Reply

