Willow Writer Julie “wines” about favors!

February 18, 2013 at 3:42 pm (Willow Writers) (, , , , , , , , )

Favors – Out or In?

As most of my friends are all getting married now, many of us have questioned whether or not to do favors. Favors in the past were always a must for any wedding. Most of our parents question the decision NOT to do favors. However, with so many people forgetting to take their favors at the end of the night, and knowing that most favors ultimately end up in the garbage, a lot of my friends are now substituting the favor for a donation to a meaningful cause or charity.

My fiancé and I have been teetering back and forth on the idea, as we have a handful of charities that are very important to us. Yet, we also don’t want our guests to leave empty handed. My mom came up with a great favor idea that believe it or not, was pretty inexpensive. Wine bottles!

Wine is definitely not going to go to waste, whether all guests remember to take their bottles home or if it’s left at the hall for our families to take home…..A win/win! My mom went to a wedding where they tied the guests’ place cards to each wine bottle, so it worked as more of a decorative place card as well.

wine

wine2

We are still deciding if this is the right choice for us, since we would also love to donate to a charity that means a lot to us. But hopefully this could be a potential idea for you! The front U-shaped table would look ultra classy with wine bottles decorated on it as the guests come in. Just remember, The Willow Room does not allow these bottles to be opened, so make sure your guests don’t pull any wine openers out of their pockets and start gulping one down!  I’ll be posting a picture of whatever we decide soon!

Happy planning,

Julie

4 Comments

  1. Special friend said,

    Julie, I never thought of wine as favors! What a great win/win! Thank you so much for your wise and helpful words!!
    XOXO

  2. Shay said,

    My family always say that I am wasting my time here at net,
    however I know I am getting know-how daily by reading such fastidious articles.

  3. www.Vegetablejuicingrecipesforweightloss.com said,

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks a lot

    • thewillowroom said,

      Hello, and thank you. It’s just a template we found on WordPress. There are a lot of great, free templates you can browse through. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

