From Blushing Bride to Bridezilla!

April 12, 2011 at 1:16 am (Willow Writers)

Meet our new Willow Writer Susan as she describes the stress and anxiety that makes every bride do a double take in the mirror at some point during the wedding planning process.  This could never be YOU, right?  Thanks to Susan for sharing her thoughts with all our readers.  Good luck with the planning, Susan, and give us a call anytime!

“I used to think a wedding was a simple affair. Boy and girl meet, they fall in love, he buys a ring, she buys a dress, they say I do. I was wrong. That’s getting married. A wedding is an entirely different proposition.” – Father of the Bride

When I got engaged, February 19th, 2010, I never in my wildest dreams thought my wedding would be such so much work, worry and anxiety. Now don’t get me wrong, it’s also a fun process I will always remember, but I thought that other brides were making a big deal out of the whole wedding process. I mean how hard can planning a wedding be? I soon discovered that planning a wedding is like having 100 jobs rolled into one. I was suddenly an event planner, a florist, a pastry chef and an interior designer. All of a sudden, I went from not knowing what I wanted, to freaking out about the very specific shade of red I needed for my bridesmaids dresses. I went from a nice bride to a Bridezilla, and it happened without me knowing what hit me.

I know what you’re thinking: Bridezilla! I’ll never be one of those! And maybe you’re right; there is a fine line between a bride who knows what she wants and a Bridezilla. It’s hard to imagine how it really happened to me because when you start the wedding process it’s so hard to know what is and what is not normal. All of a sudden you need to be in charge and make decisions, but you don’t know where to go or on who to rely. This is why it’s so important to team up with your banquet staff at your reception facility. At The Willow Room, where Josh (my fiancé) and I will be having our wedding in December, Nicole (the wedding sales manager) is the wedding queen!  Believe me, they turn into a person to lean on and a voice of reason through the sea of wedding chaos!

One of the hardest things is to actually make a decision – any decision:  the cake, the colors, the reception hall. By the time you end up making a decision and you think you finally have some aspect set in stone, someone says something like, “Well I know you settled on roses, but have you considered tulips?” Then your mind starts to race and you realize, “What if I didn’t think about tulips? What if I should be going with them? Is it too late?! OMG everyone is going to hate the flowers and I had the chance to pick tulips and I blew it!”

Weddings make people, especially the bride crazy. I went from a nice girl who only cared about marrying the love of my life, to a person who yelled, “God doesn’t play favorites!” to a priest because he wouldn’t let me have flower petals in the church. Yes, I have completely lost it. So to all of you reading this out there who’s freaked out and pulling their hair out, I know what you’re going through. For those who have just started the planning process, buckle up for the ride of a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

