Willow Writer Dana’s final blog as a Miss!

August 13, 2010 at 7:07 pm (Uncategorized, Willow Writers)

Well, this week has been full of exciting wedding fun.  Let me share a recap!

 Last Friday, August 6th, was my non-bachelorette party with my bridesmaids and some family.  I really wasn’t interested in the traditional bachelorette party scene – we all know what I’m talking about there, right? With crazy props and questionable bachelorette paraphernalia… just not my scene. So, my girls and Mom planned at Mexican themed outdoor dinner party, complete with swimming and a bonfire at my Mom’s house. This was perfect, and totally my speed – actually my bridesmaids even thanked me for not wanting to do a late night bachelorette bar crawl.  It was very low key and it was so nice to just relax and share a cocktail among friends.

 Saturday, August 7th, was a busy day. First, my bachelorette party didn’t end until close to 3:00 a.m., and here I was waking up at 7:00 a.m. for my practice wedding hair appointment. Oh my, all I could think was… N-A-P!  As I was making my way to the spa, Justin was up early, too. Today was Justin’s bachelor party, and it started off with a morning tee time.  After golf, his brother had planned a cookout and kickball tournament at a local park (as you can tell, Justin and I are not big bar goers!) 

 So, Saturday was a really fun day. I loved my practice hairstyle; it was exactly what I envisioned… a soft, curly updo showing off my delicate crystal hair pins and simple veil. Justin had a blast! He left around 7:30 a.m and didn’t get home until about 1:00 a.m.

Which gave me lots of time to tackle wedding to-do’s. While Justin was busy partying, I was busy tying organza bows on 200 Nonni’s biscotti’s (yummy)… I had to bring a little Italian into my receptionJ.  So, favors are done – woo hoo.

 Monday, August 9th, I talked to our baker and finalized the overall cake design we were hoping to achieve. We chose a 3 tiered hexagon cake with simple dot and swirl design (alternating between layers). For the cake topper, I ordered an “S”, with scattered crystal details for a sophisticated finishing touch.  Cake design is done – woo hoo #2.

 Tuesday, August 10th, was my total DJ day because it was the last day I could make any changes to our online itinerary and planning forms. Our DJ allows his clients to post all their music planning details online, on a password protected profile – LOVED THIS. We really wanted our music to be fun and appeal to each guest, so we put weeks into planning the music and event timeline. DJ planning is done – woo hoo #3.

 Wednesday, August 11th, surprisingly nothing wedding-fabulous occurred today. I completed some basic to-do’s, like finalizing my wedding day timelines for the vendors.  I actually spent some wedding-free qt with my Groom-to-be and went to bed early – both of which have been long over due!

 Thursday, August 12th, I met with our DJ to go over any final details or special requests. I have a few surprises for my Groom up my sleeve!  We are so excited and can’t wait to see our DJ and Emcee team in action, because let’s face it the DJ really sets the mood for the night!

 Friday, August 13, 2010, FINAL dress fitting!!! My Mom has done a great job on all of my alterations; however, today we are stopping by the local bridal store where I bought my dress so their seamstress can walk my Mom thru a bustle for my gown. Can’t wait!

 8 days until I am a Mrs!

1 Comment

  1. Dan Stahurski said,

    Congratulations Dana and God Bless!

    Dan
    (your classmate from Blessed Sacrament Cathedral since Kindergarten)

Leave a Reply

